First Milestone Reached: JNCIA Certified

Good news over here: today I passed the JNCIA exam, the first milestone of my Project:Me10 journey! 😀

I’m reeeeeally happy about that! I had no experience with Juniper products and at first I found it a little bit difficult to start typing in Junos (I used to think in IOS 🙂 ) but, once this first obstacle has been overcome, the preparation has been pretty easy.

Junos OS is an interesting platform and the JNCIA exam is focused on convincing you about this (succeeding). A nice thing about the Juniper Network Certification Program, is that you can obtain a 50% voucher over the exam prize passing a practice test on their website. That’s great! I only spent 50$ for my JNCIA exam!

My only complaint is about the exam blueprint which lacks of focus on major networking protocols and technologies. The certification is designed to be an introduction to Juniper’s world, but I thought I was gonna find more CCNA-like contents. That’s why I can’t wait to start my JNCIS journey (which is the second milestone of the Project), in which I’ll find some interesting topics like IS-IS, BGP and High Availability (among many others).

But first I’ll take a little break and I’ll work on some Linux and Network Automation skills (and projects 🙂 ).

Stay tuned.

P.S.

Few weeks ago I’ve also won a 10$ Amazon Gift Card solving a game posted by David Swafford (Datacenter Network Engineer at Facebook) in a network automation focused group on Facebook, which required to parse this command output in order to obtain a dictionary of port-channel numbers to their member interfaces (my solution here).

Nothing special, but something is better than nothing 😀

4 comments

  1. MrJakub · July 21, 2015

    Well done Mr 😉
    As you have noticed today, Juniper exams are focusing on a set of platform features instead of non-vendor technologies.

    Like

    • nexthub · July 21, 2015

      Thanks man 🙂
      Are higher certs on the same line?

      Like

      • MrJakub · July 23, 2015

        Even slightly more 😉 No more IP/Mask questions.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Project:Me10 – 40% Completed | project:me10

Leave a Reply

