Project:Them03 – Ishan Shah

After Matija and Jakub, our friends from Cisco and Google, let me introduce you another special guest: Ishan Shah, a young network engineer who interned at LinkedIn’s HQ. Personally, I really believe in social networking as a key factor for success and so I appreciate LinkedIn. It’d be wonderful to work there 🙂

Ok then, let’s see what Ishan has to say us about his experience.


Gabriele: Hi Ishan and thanks for joining us. Can you start telling a little bit about yourself?

Ishan: Hey everyone, my name is Ishan Shah and I am originally from India. I am 23 years young and currently interning as a Network Engineer at LinkedIn, California for the summer.

G: Oh, California! The dreamland for every geek! Anyway, what did you study?

I: I got my undergraduate degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Nirma University,India. Currently, I am enrolled as a graduate student at the North Carolina State University (USA) majoring in Computer Networks.

G: Based on your LinkedIn profile, you have a broad knowledge about software, networking, telecommunications and OS. In your opinion, what are key skills to obtain a position like yours?

I: For me, the most important skill beyond all technicalities is self confidence. Easier said than done though. Self confidence comes with efficient preparation. Once you are well prepared for any challenge, self confidence will assist in clearing out all obstacles thrown in front of you.

Coming to the technical part, I think one should either be super efficient in a particular domain (Networking, Telecom et al.) along with some coding skills or the other way round. As long as one falls under any of these two categories, I’m sure he/she can crack any job position at all the top companies.

G: Speaking about LinkedIn, can you share your experience with us? How did you apply? How does the recruiting process look like?

I: I applied online by submitting my resume through their career website. My entire recruiting process, which included 4 technical 1 hour interviews and 1 HR 30 minutes interview, took almost a month before I got my offer letter. Interviews were well organized but they typically take a while on their decision between various interviews.

All my interviews were technically fulfilling. I was asked about most of the things I knew about networking. One has to be well prepared to crack these type of interviews. Also, having thorough knowledge and awareness about everything written on one’s resume is a must.

G: What was your role?

I: My role as a Network Engineer was to support the company’s production network supporting Linkedin.com. My work was concentrated mostly towards the expansion and build of LinkedIn’s various datacenters.

G: What did you like the most about LinkedIn and your job as an intern?

I: LinkedIn’s culture is what I think separates the company from the others (in a good way). In spite of my intern tag, I was always treated as any other regular employee. My suggestions or pointers were always given equal importance. Every employee, no matter what team, was always willing to spend time and talk about anything I wanted to learn or know from them.

G: How does LinkedIn “treat” its interns?

I: I couldn’t have asked for anything more from the intern program at LinkedIn. Choosing LinkedIn over others for my internship is one of the best decisions I’ve taken in my life. Besides all the amazing perks (you’ll find details online), the general ambience during the intern program was entirely satisfying and filling. LinkedIn definitely knows who to treat its [in]terns in the best manner possible.

G: How did you prepare for the interviews?

I: Few courses that I had enrolled in at my university prepared me well for my interviews. Besides that, constant reading and practical implementation, extensive use of google for finer details were other important things that I felt helped me crack these interviews.

G: Can you share with us any advice for someone who want to start a career in network engineering?

I: I definitely recommend studying the CCNA, CCNP certification books from Cisco as a start. These books might only give theoretical knowledge though. Practical implementation in a lab environment is a must to get the exact concept behind these theories.  

G: One last question: any plans for the future?

I: I have been offered a return full-time offer to work as a Network Engineer at LinkedIn once I graduate from school. I aim to continue working at LinkedIn for the foreseeable future and hope to gain further knowledge and experience so as to hone my networking skills further.

G: Well, congratulations! 🙂

Many thanks again for finding the time to share your experience with us. I’m sure many people will find it very informative. Wish you all the best!

I: It’s been a pleasure 🙂


If you’re interested in joining LinkedIn, here is where you want to look for 🙂

Leave a Reply

