Cisco Incubator Program – Assessment Centre

As I mentioned in my previous post, a couple of weeks ago I passed a phone interview for the Cisco Engineer Incubator Program.

It is a special educational program designed by Cisco engineers and Cisco Networking Academy to support employment of talented students and graduates. Specifically to support those who are interested in networking technologies and starting a career in IT.

You will benefit from free CCNP course at your local Cisco Networking Academy. There will also be advanced technology and soft skills seminars and webinars delivered by Cisco experts during our regular virtual and live office visits as well as meetings with the Krakow Global Support Center team.

So, selected students would receive free CCNP course, free CCNP exam vouchers, technical webinars and technical (and non-technical) workshop once a month a Cisco office.

Something to be defined SUPER COOL! 😀

Few day later, I was contacted back and informed that I was selected for the recruiting process’ last stage: the Assessment Centre.

ASSESSMENT CENTRE

My Assessment Centre started at 12:30 p.m. and finished at 16:00 p.m. and it was organized into 4 sessions:

  • Technical questionnarie, 30 minutes.
  • Group role-play, 1 hour.
  • Managers interview, 1 hour.
  • Technical presentation and interview, 1 hour.

Everything was remotely managed by Cisco Kraków team and the whole assessment was delivered using Telepresence, which is awesome.

1-epcQFi8Buqzoe4RhVnONiQ

TECHNICAL QUESTIONNARIE

It was composed of about 10 multiple-choice questions and the difficult leval was CCNA-like. This was indeed the easiest part of the day and I completed it without problems.

GROUP ROLE-PLAY

This was the session that I was scared the most at first. I was completely wrong anyway, since there was nothing to be scared 🙂

I was connected with other 3 different Cisco offices where other candidates were based and with Cisco Kraków team who delivered the interview.

Our assessors gave us a task and our goal was to work as a team and find and present the solution for the given problem. I really enjoyed this section also thanks to my fellow candidates who were awesome and collaborative. At the end I think we made a nice work (at least from a team work point of view, which was the main goal I suppose).

MANAGERS INTERVIEW

During this stage I was connected to 2 other managers, one from HR and one from Cisco Advanced Services.

Summary: I don’t think I could have a better experience, seriously!!!

They have seemed to be really interested during the interview, both on my profile and on trying to make me have the best experience possible from the interview itself.

Questions ranged from my CV, to previous experiences, to future perspectives and general interestes. They have challenged me on and on but it was fine since questions were interesting and they were kind.

After the interview I was a little bit sad because I’d have liked it to last even longer 🙂

PRESENTATION + TECHNICAL INTERVIEW

Let’s say that not everything can go well all the time.

Summary: I don’t think I could have a worst experience, seriously!!!

I won’t go into details this time, but during this interview I felt really bad about how the assessor approached me and his general behaviour. I felt humiliated at some point and I’d have wanted to stop the interview. He asked me very few technical questions and asked tons of unrelated (and useless, in my humble opinion) ones.

Again, I don’t think I could have a worst experience.

SUMMARY

My general experience is more than positive. The whole day was well organized and I really enjoyed most of the AC.

At Cisco Rome (where I was located) everyone was kind and helpful. I spent some time with some Cisco guys before and after my interview and they gave me interesting and useful advice. The environment was awesome too. So, in summary, I’m really happy 🙂 I’ve started dreaming about being at a Cisco office since the very first moment I entered in an Academy and now finally I did it.

Now let’s wait next week for AC’s results!

3 comments

  1. Pawel · October 26, 2015

    Hello Gabriele!

    My name is Pawel and I am part of the team that was coordinating assessment center that you just wrote about (Yes, we are following your blog at Cisco 😉 ). Thank you very much for participating in our assessment. Every feedback is valuable for us and we are constantly working on improvements.

    Cheers and hopefully see you in Cisco Office!
    Pawel Dukat

    Like

    • gabrielegerbino · October 26, 2015

      Hi Pawel!

      It’s great you know about my blog 😀
      Thanks for your effort to provide us an amazing experience at the assessment center!

      Cheers,
      Gabriele

      Like

  2. Pingback: Cisco Incubator Program Assessment Centre: Passed! | project:me10

Leave a Reply

